This feature is only relevant if you have multi-logins activated and at least one more additional user added. All users within your company can create public or private collections, which can be seen either company-wide or only by the user logged in.

The visibility can be changed after the collection is created, and private collections can be made public. 

Only the main user can set public collections back to private.